The Little Things

IMG_0390

Sunflowers. I don’t know what it is about them exactly…. but they have always  mesmerized me. When I was a kid my friends and I would pretend we lived back in 1800’s  and we always had flower names, mine was ALWAYS Sunflower.( Yes, I realize I sound like a total nerd ,and I’m ok with that.)

My husband and I are blessed to live near a lake here in Colorado, and this time of year the lake is surrounded by yellow fields. Sunflowers.Out the wa-zoo. It’s an incredible sight to behold, the kind of sight that makes you stop to take a picture but before you can take the picture… all you can do is stand there and stare. And then you realize your standing in the middle of a road with your mouth hanging open catching flies ,and you may get hit by a truck if you continue to gaze….. So you snap your picture ,run to the car and smile at the memory.

You may be scratching you head going “really, I’m reading a blog post about SUNFLOWERS!?”

If i’ve learned anything it’s this, enjoy the little things. Five years ago I was diagnosed with PTSD *Who knew you could get PTSD from having cancer and losing your leg?!*  It brought with it a butt load of anxiety, a touch of depression and some really bizarre seizure like episodes. Sometimes I get so overwhelmed I don’t even know how to function or get through my day. I have found that enjoying the little things, like fields of yellow… Help. A lot. Being thankful instead of being overwhelmed. Sounds easy… not so much. But the next time your feeling overwhelmed with work,school or just life in general… give it a try. 🙂 Those “fields of yellow” can do wonders!

1 Peter 5:6-7  Humble yourselves,therefore,under the mighty hand of God so that at the proper time he may exalt you, Casting all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you.

Leave a Reply

